3rd Summer School in Kananaskis

3rd ABBY-Net Summer School

August 10-17, 2014 in Kananaskis, Alberta, Canada

At the Barrier Lake Field Station of the University of Calgary’s Biosciences Institute


Theme: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Natural Resource Management and Energy Issues

ABBY-Net is an interdisciplinary network of researchers from Albertan and Bavarian universities, striving to jointly address research topics that are of essential importance for the sustainable development of the Province of Alberta and the State of Bavaria under changing environmental conditions.

ABBY-Net’s Summer School 2014 aimed to train young scientists in interdisciplinary approaches to energy and ecosystem research. The course focused on resource-management issues in the province of Alberta, and the impact of resource extraction on natural ecosystem functioning. Students attended seminars on key extra-disciplinary topics (hydrology, energy systems, environmental monitoring, data mining, and data analysis) and participated in field excursions designed to educate participants on local resource-management issues. In the later stages, participants were challenged to develop interdisciplinary research proposals designed to solve practical problems related to resource extraction in Alberta.


Course Content

The goal of this course was to educate students on the issues and analytical techniques required to deliver effective, science-based solutions to key resource-management issues in Alberta. The program was be divided into three sections:

  • Inter-disciplinary seminars were taught in the disciplines of ecological systems and land use, energy systems and computing science/data mining to help participants understand basic analytical procedures from other disciplines.
  • Field excursions gave participants a hands-on understanding of local ecosystems and the resource-management issues they face.
  • Group project exercises required students to create interdisciplinary research proposals on a resource-management issue of their choosing.


Program Committee

Greg McDermid (University of Calgary) Klaus Diepold (TUM)
Mario Nascimento (University of Alberta) Jürgen Karl (FAU)
Stefan Kienzle (University of Lethbridge) Ralf Ludwig (LMU)

Organizing Committee

Greg McDermid, Maria Strack, Steve Liang, Bernhard Mayer, Jorg Denzinger (all University of Calgary)

With kindly acknowledged support from Randy Goebel (AITF) and Florence Gauzy (BayFOR).